UCPH – Department of Chemistry (Team Leader: Prof. M. Arenz)

General description:

The Department of Chemistry (DC) at UCPH is a combined research and educational institution covering all fields of the molecular sciences (see http://chem.ku.dk/). The research staff includes more than 40 permanent researchers working together with PostDocs, PhD, master and bachelor students. This makes the DC the largest chemical research institution in Danish academia. The Nano-Science Center (NSC) at UCPH was inaugurated in 2001 and is involved in several EU's Framework Programs. The NSC hosts in total about 100 scientists covering topics ranging from nano-electronics to nano-medicine. The NSC houses two Danish basic research centres. The host laboratory, the Nano-catalysis Lab (NCL) led by Prof. Dr. Arenz is associated to the DC as well as the NSC of UCPH.

Currently active research lines of the NCL are:

·       activity and identical-location TEM degradation studies by of state of the art industrial PEM fuel cell catalysts;

·       preparation and full characterization (size, catalytic performance, electrochemical stability) of size selected, supported metal clusters (co-operation with Prof. Heiz; TUM);

·       novel synthesis routes and full characterization (chemical, structural, morphological and functional) of unprotected and ligand-capped NPs for the development of selective nano-catalysts (co-operation with Prof. Bäumer; University of Bremen);

·       in-situ FTIR investigations of selective precious metal catalysts for HT-PEM-FCs;

·       DEMS studies on carbon supports for PEM fuel cell catalysts.

Relevant experience:

The NCL is currently partner and committee member (MC) of Denmark in the European COST action “NanoAlloy” (http://www.nanoalloy.eu) focussing on bi- and multimetallic NPs. Furthermore the NCL has a sound experience with industry collaborations (e.g. with Umicore and BASF). Concerning the actual content of the present project, the past experience of the host lab in the field of model and applied catalysts for low and high temperature PEM fuels will be capitalized.

Role in the project and main tasks:

The group of Prof. Arenz is leader of WP6 and further will contribute to WP4, WP5, WP8. UCPH will take part in the dissemination plans of WP8 as well as assist in WP4 and WP5 in investigating the synthesised catalyst systems with state-of-the-art methodologies concerning activity, stability and selectivity at RT and up to 70°C. UCPH will then take the lead in WP6 in evaluating the different catalyst concepts at intermediate-T conditions which requires new standards. Based on its experience in systematic and standardized evaluations of reaction rates and pathways of EC processes, UCPH will design standardized test protocols, perform tests, and evaluate the different tested catalyst systems for the EOR. A second focus of the UCPH activities in this project will be developing and applying stability tests at intermediate-T conditions.

Key persons:

Prof. Matthias Arenz (Associated professor) is permanent staff.

Prof. Arenz is an expert in electro- and gas phase catalysis of model as well as industrial catalysts. His present research interest is focused on the development of novel, degradation resistant and selective electrocatalysts for low and high temperature PEM fuel cells.

Dr. Gustav Wiberg (Postdoctoral researcher)

Dr. Wiberg is an expert in electrocatalysis as well as Battery research. He is the main responsible for the daily work of WP6 activities.

Michael Fleige (PhD student) works together with Dr. Wiberg on WP6.

In addition currently one Postdoc, three PhD, and one Master student work in the NCL.